Joel and I have neglected our yard for quite some time. Mainly because we didn't have a lawn mower for the longest time nor did we have the money to purchase a new one. Due to this we decided to hire our teenage neighbor across the street to mow our lawn every other week. Long story short...he did it twice and just stopped. That's when our yard started to look like a jungle. We bought a lawn mower off of Craig's List for $35 but it's not in good shape.
I finally got on a kick and did some yard work. I was able to coerce Joel to mow the lawn w/ the crappy mower. Well...while he was mowing he noticed that someone mowed a message in our lawn. But now it's so over grown that we can't tell what they wrote and he mowed half of it before he noticed it. We are assuming it said something like "Cut Me" or "Mow Me". Our neighbors (on the side where the message was) are trying to sell their house so we're wondering if they are annoyed with us and perhaps they are the culprits. I want my house to look pretty and I don't want to be the annoying neighbors who don't take care of their property but it's just not a priority. We don't have the money to buy a mower quite yet...I hope our neighbors don't hate us too much!
Wednesday, July 22, 2009
Tuesday, July 21, 2009
Soon the boredom will end...
Woot Woot...I have a little less then three weeks before I start my new interpreting job. I am excited for many reasons!
1. I will be working with a student who relies on an interpreter.
2. I will be getting paid way more more than I ever have.
3. I will have a job and the boredom will end!
4. I am driving to Texas to see my cousins. It will be a blast.
Can't wait!
1. I will be working with a student who relies on an interpreter.
2. I will be getting paid way more more than I ever have.
3. I will have a job and the boredom will end!
4. I am driving to Texas to see my cousins. It will be a blast.
Can't wait!
Thursday, July 9, 2009
Mayfest

In May, Joel and I went to Mayfest. It was a small festival in a nearby town. It was so hot, so we sat under a tree and drank lemonade. A woman took a picture of us for a local magazine called Southern Mississippi Living. Joel's co-worker told us that they saw our picture in the magazine. Not only are we famous...wink wink... but I guess this officially makes us "southerners" as well! Heehee! Above is the pic!
Wednesday, July 1, 2009
My new creation


I've been trying to fill my time with new things. I decided to hand sew this bag. It took a long time but I think I like the end result. I bought a similar bag in Israel and wanted to replicate it. Of course I had to take the Israel bag apart to figure out how to make another one, but it was worth it! I know my sewing buddy, Jill, will be proud :)
Next endeavor...finish putting pics in my already made wedding scrap book.
Thursday, June 25, 2009
:(
I can't explain the loss I feel. It seems all the people who I love dearly are so far from me. My sister and her family left for Jordan this week and I am missing them terribly. I wish they could live here where I could be around to watch my nieces and nephews grow up and where I can pick up the phone at any moment to talk to my sister (without worrying what time it is there). Although I am missing out on those things and I feel this tremendous loss once again...I am also reminded that I have had many opportunities to travel and experience new things because of it.
I want to win the lottery so I can visit them often...I guess I can't win without playing...I better get moving on that! :)
I want to win the lottery so I can visit them often...I guess I can't win without playing...I better get moving on that! :)
Sunday, June 21, 2009
Job Title
I am a Sign Language Interpreter...I've been called a signer....a deaf interpreter...and today for the first time I was called a hand linguist. I think I like that one the best...it sounds classy ;)
Friday, June 19, 2009
Row 31
I was on line...ready to board the plane, I took note of my seat number and made my way to 31A. As I was getting closer to my seat I realized that I was going to be in the last row, which was a first for me. I was also going to be in a window seat which is not my preference, but I was unable to switch it to an aisle seat at the kiosk earlier in the day. I convinced myself that it was a short flight and I could hold my bladder, so being stuck in a window seat was no big deal. EXCEPT...the last row doesn't have a flippin' window. I watched as everyone hurried to their seats and came to the realization that the flight was packed and there was no way I would be able to switch my seat (plus who would want to switch with me...that's the worst seat ever?!?)
I read my book and tried to ignore the fact that I am super claustrophobic. I felt out of breath...I kept trying to keep calm and did everything I could to not flip out. Finally we were in the air. The guy in front of me was getting comfy and reclined his seat back...as if it wasn't bad enough, now I was even more closed in with no window to see the outside world (and I was not able to recline my own seat because last row seats obviously don't recline). I thought maybe there is a vacant seat...I frantically waved down the flight attendant and asked him if I there was anyway I could sit somewhere else...I didn't realize how freaked out I was until I noticed that my voice was cracking and tears were welling up in my eyes. I could tell the flight attendant felt bad for me but there was nothing he could do. I felt like I was going to hyperventilate at any moment and was shuffling through the seat pocket in front of me for the barf bag. The good news is I made it in one piece...but never will I ever sit in 31A again.
I read my book and tried to ignore the fact that I am super claustrophobic. I felt out of breath...I kept trying to keep calm and did everything I could to not flip out. Finally we were in the air. The guy in front of me was getting comfy and reclined his seat back...as if it wasn't bad enough, now I was even more closed in with no window to see the outside world (and I was not able to recline my own seat because last row seats obviously don't recline). I thought maybe there is a vacant seat...I frantically waved down the flight attendant and asked him if I there was anyway I could sit somewhere else...I didn't realize how freaked out I was until I noticed that my voice was cracking and tears were welling up in my eyes. I could tell the flight attendant felt bad for me but there was nothing he could do. I felt like I was going to hyperventilate at any moment and was shuffling through the seat pocket in front of me for the barf bag. The good news is I made it in one piece...but never will I ever sit in 31A again.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)